Understanding

I just love people who get it. I especially love people who get it and say it on a widely read news site:

Criminalisation harms sex workers

The Canadian Courts recently heard these arguments from Janice Raymond and Melissa Farley (both American academics who have never done sex work) and dismissed their ‘evidence’ on the basis that they couldn’t substantiate their claims (In the words of SM – LOL #FAIL). The court found that the harms related to sex work were caused by criminalisation – not by sex work in and of itself. Sex work is not inherently harmful. Criminalisation is. (Refer to my post Accountants and cars)

Criminalising the activities associated with sex work, or sex work itself, is neither contemporary nor modern, nor is it based on any reliable evidence.

Sex workers have consistently proven that health self-regulation is not only possible but successful.

Arguing for increased criminalisation such as the Swedish model is to ignore 30 years of evidence promoting the success of decriminalisation.

Silencing or deliberately undermining sex workers’ voices is one way that anti-sex work campaigners hide the harms that are created by criminalisation. Anti-sex work activists view sex workers’ protest against the Swedish Model as driven by greed or delusion. One tactic often used is the claim that those who speak up against the Swedish model must be pimps or brothel owners, interested only in exploiting others. Another tactic is to describe sex workers as having “false consciousness” and as having “Stockholm syndrome.” Either way, their voices are often ignored.

Trafficking and sex work are two different things. Trafficking is a crime; sex work is a job. Anyone who cannot understand that these phenomena are unlike each other has a whorephobic boner and is emotionally attached to defining sex workers as victims.

…such views make sex workers invisible when we inconveniently speak out against the conflation of sex work and trafficking, and against the insult that we would have to be victimised to choose the job that we do.

Sex worker voices and health should be all that really matter in these debates, as it is our lives that are affected while others simply theorise from the sidelines.

These are but a few excerpts from the article which I c/p over here to illustrate the points I wholeheartedly agree with. This is nothing new to my peers and I. We have been saying this over and over and over. Read the article, learn, understand. Follow the links that are posted within it from the original site and educate yourself. Better yet, UNDERSTAND what is going on and how some of you sheeple are being manipulated.

And then of course I read the stupid asonine you-don’t-know-what-you-are-talking-about comments and just want to hit the reply button over and over to say things like asshole, dipshit, moron, twit…. Like this dude:

Anthony :

08 Apr 2011 12:24:38pm

Surely sex work is work women do when their self esteem is too low to enter the real workforce? Elena, you may be in denial about your situation but that doesn’t mean the rest of us have to be as well. I engaged the services of a sex worker on only one occasion, and I found it to be a very sad and demoralising experience. Sex work is not a legitimate form of work, its simply a social saftey valve.

Gotta love the hookers who responded to this:

Kylie :

08 Apr 2011 7:08:16pm

Anthony, people enter the sex industry for all sorts of reasons and at all different stages of their lives. While I started at 20, I had already been working in catering and other jobs since I was 14 (bakery, cafeteria, Sizzlers, fruit shop, pamphlet delivery, maths tutor etc). Other friends of mine entered the industry when they were in their 40’s. A lot of us have 2 occupations (nurse, graphic designer, counselor, script writer, parents, teachers, models, accountants, dress makers, IT consultants..). So no, our self esteems are quite fine thanks, we’re just making choices based on the sound economic principle that we can earn money / more money within the sex industry.

I was going to uni earning about $8 / hr at a bottle shop when I entered the sex industry. It gave me great freedom to study more (psychology degree) and choose to live closer to the uni so my commute was shorter. The sex industry gave me a great deal of skills that I utilise in all aspects of my life. I am extremely empowered now, I am very capable of setting very clearly defined boundaries,and I have a far greater understanding of safer sex practices and equipment. Before that I was just like many other women who were on the Pill and had casual sex without negotiating condom use. Now I teach my clients about STI transmission and the benefits of using condoms or femidoms.

Since entering the sex industry I am much more comfortable with my body. I still hate my rotund bottom but after so many years of my clients giving me very respectful, lovely compliments I have come to understand that real men like all shapes and sizes – NOT just the magazine/ billboard size 1 models everyone thinks all sex workers should look like.

My self esteem is just fine thanks. I can assure you I am not in denial about how I choose to live my life.

I love my job. My clients are great. It’s the general public who dismiss the voices of sex workers again and again that hurt us. You guys are the ones who we want to escape from. You are the ones who make me sad and upset.

And then here is this hair leg:

HC :

08 Apr 2011 10:19:43am

The re-criminalisation of the sex industry is necessary to prevent and address trafficking into prostitution and prevent sexual servitude. Victims of trafficking also need assistance. Brutal violence against prostitutes are inherent in the nature of this sad industry. Changes in laws do not protect vulnerable women. These women should be helped out of their situation, but legitimizing them isn’t the answer. Prostitution is a form of male violence against women. Decriminalization is a boon to the underworld. Prostitution and the trafficking of women are not separate issues.

Far from empowering women, prostitution does little more than reduce women to instruments of pleasure and impersonal objects for sexual gratification. The real lesson here is plain and simple: human dignity can be legislated away. Legalized prostitution does not stop illegal prostitution, but allows it to continue to operate, with unregulated prostitution increasing faster than legal prostitution activities.

I’m just waiting for some of the ladies to get a hold of his happy ass. It if doesn’t happen I’m setting Bad Brandy on him.

 

 


 

3 Comments

Filed under Opinions, Solutions

3 responses to “Understanding

  1. cch

    “both American academics who have never done sex work” — A minor point, but researchers can study a profession without having worked in the profession. A researcher can study astronauts without having been an astronaut. Having worked in the profession would probably help, but it’s not a requirement for good research. Again, this is a minor point. My understanding is that American academics in question are using an agenda-driven rather than a data-driven approach.

  2. bdevereaux

    I kinda sorta lil bit disagree BUT only when it comes to this profession or really any other profession that is under the radar. It’s easy to do studies on astronauts because their work is legal and out there. Previous research can be studied and used, interviews can be conducted because it’s not like astronauts are hiding or suspicious of people who ask them questions. I would suspect all live fairly normal lives (it’s not like a section of them are easily found in jail cells suffering from the DT’s).

    Honestly if I were studying astros or anyone else I would prefer to read a paper that was written by an astro and would be more likely able to understand what it would be like as an astro. Only they can convey the true feeling of weightlessness, viewing the earth as a little marble in the distance, the taste of the food, what it feels like to pee in space, etc.

    Just a minor point 🙂

    And YEA to the last sentence 🙂

    Luv ya CC

  3. cch

    I don’t know…You wouldn’t say that sex workers can only ____ because they have been sex workers, or sex workers can’t ____ because they have been sex workers or because they haven’t been _____. I can’t say anything meaningful right now about the experiences of sex workers because I’ve never been one, and I don’t have any data to analyze. However, if I studied sex workers, I think I could report useful, meaningful results. I think the problem has more to do with people not being open to the experiences of others rather than people not sharing the experiences of others.

Leave a Reply

